In-somnia, now how do I get out?

16 07 2010

image

Being one of the definitional kind my current waking state had to find out what somnia was and why I have the misfortune of being involved in it these last few weeks.

It is indeed a term, more specifically

-somnia, suffix meaning “(condition of or like) sleep”: asomnia, hyposomnia, hypersomnia.

As per The Free Dictionary reference to Mosby’s Medical Dictionary, 8th edition. © 2009, Elsevier.

Insomnia itself is the inability to obtain sufficient sleep as is the case with me. It started with late night TV and staying up watching endless Bravo programming & most recently (i.e. 4:30am this morning) watching infomercials on how to lose those stubborn pounds and get perfect skin. I was amazingly convinced by both.

Unlike great writers I don’t get my best ideas during waves of insomnia, or is it that great insomnia makes writers waive the best ideas???? Whichever. Point is, I’m tormented. Sleep, why hast thou forsaken me?

Posted from WordPress for Android on HTC mobile

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 03 2015
Indie

Well tickle me pink, looks like things haven’t changed that much — she wrote at 2:35 am while reading all her old blog posts.

20 07 2010
Reudor

If I don’t put my ideas to paper I’d never fall asleep.
Problem is the well seldom dries up and I act on most of the ideas, good or bad.
Ooh, this gives me an idea for tomorrows cartoon. Good or bad.

24 07 2010
Indie

Slicing your jugular while cartooning …. bad
🙂

16 07 2010
Nico

Awwww. Poor baby.

Leave a Reply

